Committee structure


The Council, comprising all 48 Members, has overall responsibility for setting its Policy Framework; the annual Budget; and Council Tax. The Council appoints the Cabinet, Committees / Sub-Committees with specific delegations. Any matters which fall outside these delegations and / or outside the Budget and Policy Framework will be considered by Council. The Council determines the Scheme of Delegation for Officers, together with Financial and Contract Procedure Rules. Council Meetings are Chaired by the Mayor, meets on a regular basis and sets the overall Budget and the Authority’s Policy Framework.  Decision-making related to the implementation of the Budget and Policy Framework is devolved to the Cabinet. The first Council meeting of the Municipal Year, known as the Annual Council Meeting, is somewhat different from the ordinary Council meetings in that it is devoted largely to appointing the Mayor and Deputy Mayor and to agreeing sizes and allocations of seats on Committees etc.


The Cabinet comprises of the Leader of the Council and up to nine Councillors with clearly defined Portfolio Holder remits. The Cabinet has executive decision making responsibilities, in accordance with the Council's agreed Budget and Policy Framework. The Council's Constitution also provides for Cabinet Members to take certain decisions individually through Individual Cabinet Member Decision Making meetings. The Cabinet's published rolling Forward Plan, updated monthly, contains a schedule of Key Decisions (as defined in the Constitution) and other matters as known, to be considered by the Cabinet over the ensuing four month period.


The Council has appointed an Overview and Scrutiny Committee to perform the following key functions: Holding the Cabinet to account; Monitoring Council performance; Developing and reviewing policy; Scrutinising externally issues of local public concern.


The Council's Constitution also provides for a 'Call In Procedure' to enable the Overview and Scrutiny Committee to consider any proposed action agreed by the Cabinet within prescribed timescales, providing a mechanism for holding the executive decision making to account.

Audit & Standards

The Council has appointed an Audit and Standards Committee (and related Sub-Committees, as appropriate) to promote and maintain high standards of conduct, as well as considering matters relating to the effective management of audit activity; accounts; and governance framework.


The Planning Committee and its Sub-Committees, as appropriate, is responsible for the following areas of Council Business: determination of planning applications not delegated to Officers of the Council; consideration of Tree Preservation Orders; and ensuring an effective building control function. The Planning Committee and related Sub-Committees discharge responsibilities in respect of regulatory matters as defined in its Terms of Reference.

Planning Sub-Committees

Planning applications that are to be considered by a Planning Sub-Committee are undertaken by 3 different area based Sub-Committees.


East Area Planning Sub Committee (EAPS): Claygate, Esher, Hinchley Wood & Weston Green, Long Ditton and Thames Ditton.

North Area Planning Sub Committee (NAPS): Hersham Village, Walton Central, Walton North, Walton South, East Molesey and West Molesey.

South Area Planning Sub Committee (SAPS):Cobham & Downside, Oatlands & Burwood Park, Oxshott & Stoke D’Abernon, Weybridge Riverside and Weybridge St. George’s Hill.


Any Planning Applications that remain undecided after consideration at a Sub-Committee, may be deferred to the Planning Committee.

Local Spending Boards

To consider applications and to allocate funding of Community Infrastructure Levy on a local area basis, subject only to power of Head of Legal Services to refer decisions to ICMDM on legal grounds.



The Licensing Committee and its Licensing Sub-Committee are responsible for the consideration of licensing matters, not delegated to Officers, including: applications relating to taxi, gaming, entertainment, food and miscellaneous licensing; functions relating to the Gambling Act 2005; the appointment, revocation, review and variance of the provision of Hackney Carriage stands within the Borough; and functions relating to licensing and registration as set out in Schedule 1 to the Local Authorities (Functions and Responsibilities) (England) Regulations 2000.

Shareholder Board

To exercise the Council’s rights and responsibilities as a shareholder of local authority companies, all powers as may be detailed in a shareholder agreement and/or scheme of delegation.

Appointments to Outside Bodies

Joint Committees

In accordance with Article 11 of the Council’s Constitution, the Joint Committee discharges the arrangements arising from the Joint Contract for Waste Collection and Street Cleaning with other Surrey Districts/Boroughs and Surrey County Council, together with other functions delegated to it by Surrey County Council, all as set out in an Inter-Authority Agreement and as amended from time to time. The Joint Committee has delegated to it:

·       Service charges and variations other than those which have a direct impact on stated policy

·       Expenditure from Annual Budget

·       Establishment of Contract Management Office

·       Such other powers as may be delegated to it from time to time by the executives of the authorities