The Cabinet

In accordance with the Local Government Act 2000 (as amended), the Leader:

The Cabinet makes major decisions and policy proposals, with the Overview and Scrutiny Committee examining these decisions in detail and developing new policies for the Cabinet to consider. The Cabinet comprises the Leader of the Council and nine Members with the following clearly defined Portfolio Holder remits:

Councillor Stuart Selleck
Leader of the Council

Councillor Mrs. Christine Elmer
Portfolio Holder for Community and Corporate Development

Councillor Mrs. Mary Marshall
Portfolio Holder for Environment

Councillor Roy Green
Portfolio Holder for Housing

Councillor Mrs. Janet Turner
Portfolio Holder for Leisure & Culture

Councillor Mrs. Karen Randolph
Portfolio Holder for Planning

Councillor Chris Sadler
Portfolio Holder for Resources

Councillor Mrs. Tannia Shipley
Portfolio Holder for Social Affairs

Councillor Andrew Davis
Portfolio Holder for Transport

Role of the Cabinet

The Cabinet has executive decision making responsibilities, in accordance with the Council's agreed Budget and Policy Framework. The Council's Constitution also provides for Individual Cabinet Member Decision Making with a specific protocol and clear delegations. Each Portfolio Holders area of responsibility is set out in the Council's Constitution at Part 3. There is a statutory obligation to publish a Forward Plan of 'key decisions', which the Cabinet intends to take in the four month period following the publication of the Forward Plan. A key decision is one which results in the Council incurring expenditure which is, or the making of savings which are, significant with regard to the Council's budget, or is significant in terms of its effect on communities living or working in an area comprising two or more electoral divisions. The Forward Plan is updated monthly and lists the items for the Cabinet's consideration and contains the particulars of the matters in respect of those decisions which are to be made.

Attending Cabinet Meetings

Members of the public are very welcome to attend and watch the proceedings at meetings of the Cabinet. All Cabinet meetings are open to the press and public (subject to various legislative exclusions) and agendas and minutes are available online via the Council's Calendar of Meetings. Cabinet meetings are normally held in the Council Chamber at the Civic Centre, Esher and commence at 7.00 p.m.

New Executive Arrangements

The Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007 required Elmbridge Borough Council to make changes to its decision-making arrangements. The new arrangements came into effect immediately after the elections in May 2011. Proposals in this regard were considered by the Council at a Special Meeting on 6 October 2010.

If you would like further information about the Cabinet, please contact the Principal Committee and Member Services Officer by e-mail: